Interview with John Inman

John, one of our Hosts, is an education enthusiast specifically on alternative learning children with a passion for working to have an impact on social justice.

Q: Who are you? Introduce yourself as you would at a dinner party.

A: I am just finishing my doctorate in education leadership for change at Fielding Graduate University. Graduate 1/10/2015. My dissertation topic is: Another way to understand gifted and dyslexic: Hypothetical transformations via an Indigenous worldview. My new venture based on this doctorate is: Learning Exceptionalities Solutions, Creating educational solutions where learners develop individual gifts and realize their potential. 

 

Q: What is something that really excites you right now (a trend, life development, time of year, food, etc.)?

A: After 5 years and 3000 hours of research, I am excited to complete my doctorate. I am always excited about my family and my time to walk. I walk 15 miles per week rain or shine. My wife is a competitive artistic roller skater (think ice but roller) and also a coach in Auburn. My son David is the wholesale account manager for Zoka Coffee here in Seattle. My daughter Kinnera (Telugu) is 15 next month and in 9th grade. She is doing advanced work in all classes. My family is why I do so much of what I do.

 

Q: You have $10M to spend in the next year, and you can’t spend it on you, your friends or your family. How do you spend it?

A: I certainly would not spend it. I would start a foundation focused on funding programs that help alternative learning children thrive and contribute to our world. I would dedicate the rest of my career to this venture.

 

Q: What’s on the horizon for you (a new project, career path, personal development)?

A: My new venture based on my doctoral work has to be it.

 

Q: Where do you usually hang out when you are at Impact Hub? How often are you here?

A: I am usually on the second floor. The first floor just never has appealed to me.

 

Q: What is something we don’t know? (Either about you, or something else)

A: My daughter is adopted from South India. I have been to Angel Falls and went to school in 9th grade in Tokyo while living with my brother’s family. He is 19 years older and was a diplomat, a cultural attaché to be specific. Born and raised in Palo Alto.

 

Q: What are your 3 favorite places in Seattle?

A: Gads I do not know. I only come into the city to work. I like to walk so like the waterfront. I like Pioneer Square and that is one reason I am at the hub. I like the Wallingford and Greenlake areas as I lived there in the late 70’s and had a blast there. 

 

Contact at john@johninmandialogue.com.